“La Tierra de los Adioses”

Above you can see our latest short doc “La Bolsa” which was recently published on The Nation magazine along with a Q&A. 

I haven’t written in a while because I’ve been trying to raise funds for a film project I’ve been working on for the past months. La Tierra de los Adioses/The Land of Goodbyes is a documentary film currently in production about Iván, Ana, Lupita and Ulises, adolescents coming-of-age in Zapotitlán Palmas, Oaxaca, Mexico. This small rural community has suffered 50 percent migration to the United States.

My partner on the project, Stefani Saintonge, and I have been literally ‘begging’ for people to donate to our Kickstarter campaign. Now, we only have 3 days left and we’re desperate!

It’s been 42 days since we launched the campaign, and although we have received a lot of support, we still need more! We pledged $5,000, which is the minimum we need.  We’re raising funds for travel and stay to and around Zapotitlán Palmas, and the U.S., where family have gone to work, plus many other post-production costs.

With this project, I do not only want to attract attention to the impact of immigration on Mexican youth, but I’m also working with the community to create a program to offer more educational opportunities to the youth of Zapotitlán. This film is just another step in this long journey that I began with the blog “Words of Resistance” last year.

Thanks for your support!!!

– Chantal Flores.